I Love Wednesday!

I couldn’t have written this on Wednesday.  I was exhausted.  Wednesday is the longest day of my week.  The thing is, though, I love Wednesday.  Wednesday is my favorite day of the week, and on Monday morning I find myself looking forward to Wednesday, not Friday.

This past Wednesday I got out of bed at 5:00 AM and started on school work that I hadn’t finished the night before.  Then, I didn’t get home for dinner until 9:00 PM.  After dinner, I had more school work to do.  I probably got to bed around midnight.  Nevertheless, it was a great day.  This probably sounds crazy, so let me explain.

Wednesday is the only day of the week that is usually “normal” at my school.  Monday and Friday suffer from the effects of the weekend — students are either really tired and unfocused or really excited and unfocused.  Tuesday and Thursday occasionally have the same effects, due to 3-day weekends and a Monday or Friday off.  Additionally, Tuesday at my school is regularly affected by team time, which leads to a weird schedule.  Wednesday, on the other hand, has few distractions and generally a normal schedule.  In my classes, we are usually learning something new on Wednesday, and students are on task.  Wednesday is great for teaching!

Wednesday is choir day for me.  Since September, I’ve had voice choir rehearsal on Wednesday nights, and for the last two weeks I’ve had bell choir rehearsal, as well.  This comes as a result of joining a new church last spring.  My family had been at the previous church for over fifteen years.  I learned a lot there.  Frankly, I still think it’s a fantastic church; I’ve never known a church where the members donated so much of their time to serving others.  However, growth had become stagnant for me, and my boys just weren’t connecting with anyone.  But, when significant friends at the church began “liking” the likes of Fred Thompson, Sarah Palin, and Glenn Beck on Facebook, I couldn’t shake the feeling that I was surrounded by a bunch of, well, mindless, hypocritical conservatives.  So, it was time to move on.

My new church is part of one of the more liberal denominations in our country, in its social and political outlook, at least.  As a Democrat, I don’t feel like an outsider there.  The people are wonderful, and for a medium-sized church they have a fabulous music program.  The adult choir is led by a talented director, and I just love it.  It’s been over twenty years since I sang in a choir, but my voice is stronger than ever.  Choir practice runs from 7:30 to 8:30 on Wednesdays, but at 8:30 I just want to beg for one more song.  And, because I have so much free time in my life (sarcasm), a couple weeks ago I decided to join the bell choir, which practices from 6:30 to 7:30 on Wednesday.  Wow!  Playing in a bell choir is quite an interesting experience, and it’s pretty darn cool.

Wednesday is also the day of my meetings with the Alliance for College Readiness, a collaboration between Elgin Community College and the eleven high schools that are in its community college district.  I co-chair the Alliance’s STEM team, and we meet from 4:00 to 6:00 once a month.  The team has more participants and energy than ever this year, my other co-chair is fabulous, and we have an exciting year planned.  It’s a lot of work, but I’ve learned an enormous amount as a result, and it’s only fair to say that leading a team of dedicated teachers does stroke one’s ego.

If that wasn’t enough to make Wednesday the best day ever, it is also pizza day at our house.  My wife usually works on Wednesday, from morning until 10:00 PM or so, and while I’m a relatively decent cook, I’ve designated Wednesday as frozen pizza day.  That way, whether I’m home or not, in a rush or not, the boys and I will have an easy dinner.

Wednesday is exhausting, without a doubt.  Multiple activities, multiple responsibilities, and when it’s all said and done, there are still two days left in the work week.  But, I love Wednesday.  It’s the best day of the week.

Leave a Reply

